First, I’ll say that the solar panels make the footprint about 25% bigger than a standard full Apple keyboard.  That can be a hassle if you are cramped for space at your desk.  On the other hand, the keyboard feels a bit more solid, perhaps because of the increased size and weight. Keystrokes are very similar feel to Apple’s standard keyboards and spacing and layout are all but identical.  Logitech adds a power switch and battery tester at the top right.

I got the piano black version because it matches my monitor and my Logitech Mouse (which also works with this USB dongle) but there are 5 colors to choose from.  I imagine the standard “silver” will be the most popular.

As far as the solar is concerned, I never had a single problem with charging or connection.  I have a florescent lit basement office and a workspace with natural light from a shaded back yard and both kept the keyboard charged at all times.  The keyboard usually sits in front of a large 30″ monitor, so that probably helps. But from reviews I’ve read, almost no one has a problem keeping this charged with normal office lighting so I don’t think this is a concern.

There are some tradeoffs for having solar, however…

  • One nitpick is that there is no caps lock light (do we even need a caps lock anymore? – I’d prefer a search button like a Chromebook). Saves power I guess. Since there is no way to tell it is depressed, I just turned it off in Prefs/Keyboard/Modifier keys. Others use this to modify function keys.
  • Also, it doesn’t use my Mac’s built in Bluetooth.  It requires a microscopic proprietary USB dongle with its own wireless band taking up a valuable USB port.  That’s both a blessing and a curse.  On one hand, it allows me to keep my Bluetooth off (or in the case of my Hackintosh, I didn’t have to buy a Bluetooth card) and doesn’t require the few seconds to connect that Bluetooth often does.  I’m hoping as more Macs have power efficient/quicker Bluetooth 4.0, Logitech moves over there (also it would be nice to use on iOS devices). But, the dongle works 100% of the time. As I mentioned above, I’d have some connectivity issues with Apple’s Bluetooth keyboard taking a few seconds to kick in, falling off or giving me repeated “r” keys.
  • The “incline feet” on the back feel a bit flimsy.  While they didn’t give way in three months of heavy use, I feel like they could have at some point if the keyboard was dropped or something heavy was dropped on it.  I’d have preferred a built in incline on the keyboard as Apple does but this methods allows two different angles for those who care.
  • Speaking of not caring, I don’t use a wrist rest and thankfully, this keyboard doesn’t have one.

That being said, I am overall extremely happy with the Logitech Wireless Solar Keyboard K750 for Mac.  I no longer have to worry about batteries or Bluetooth connectivity hiccups and I have a full wireless keyboard with numeric keys and full sized arrows and extra functions.  The tradeoffs are few with the major one being a microscopic USB dongle that travels around in my MacBook Air at times.

  • Logitech brings K750 solar keyboard over to the Mac side, speaker to iPad (9to5mac.com)
  • Logitech K750 Wireless Solar Keyboard for $40 + free shipping (9to5toys.com)
  • Logitech K250 Wireless Keyboard for $12 + $6 s&h (9to5toys.com)
  • Logitech K800 Wireless Illuminated Keyboard for $60 + free shipping (9to5toys.com)
  • Logitech Bluetooth Wireless Boombox for iPad for $100 + free shipping (9to5toys.com)
  • Logitech K250 Wireless Keyboard for $12 + $6 s&h, 2 for $24 + free shipping (9to5toys.com)
  • Logitech K750 Wireless Solar Keyboard for $55 + free shipping (9to5toys.com)
  • Refurbished Logitech Revue Google TV Receiver for $80 + free shipping (9to5toys.com)
  • Logitech Wireless Bluetooth Speaker for Apple iPad for $60 + free shipping (9to5toys.com)